The Guest House (La Casa de Visitas) is a stately mansion from the late eighteenth century that belonged to Don Nicolás Fernández del Rincón. It has a beautiful baroque facade in which on the first level there are six lobed arches, balconies topped by tufts, and an elaborate cornice adorned with a cross.
Located on the southwest side of the Main Plaza, the building was built by Don Juan Mercado in 1786, to house the first political sub-delegates of the Congregation of Our Lady of Sorrows. During the independence movement of 1810, it was inhabited by the Spanish sub-delegate Don Nicolás Fernández del Rincón and the tax collector Don Ignacio Díaz de la Cortina, who was apprehended by Captains Allende and Aldama. In 1940 the State Government acquired it to accommodate distinguished visitors.