The construction of the Temple of the Assumption of Mary began on May 12, 1875 by the order of Mr. Cura Don José María Gómez. Before being named as a patron saint and dedicated to the Assumption of Mary it was venerated as Our Lady of La Saleta, who appeared in France to some young pastors on September 19, 1846 at the holy mountain of La Salette (Département de l’Isère, France) and whose image had been brought and given as a gift in August 1874 by a person from San Luis Potosi.
The new parish was erected on October 19, 1976, having its first parish priest Salvador Barroso (QEPD) and the vicars Victor Fernandez and Rodolfo Vega. There had been four priests who had been at the forefront of the Parish of the Assumption: Priests Salvador Barroso T., Rosalio Nache T., González FroylánP., and Daniel Huerta Ibáñez.
Its facade displays a mixture of Greco-Roman style, French Gothic, and Doric. Designed by Don Zeferino Gutierrez, it was accomplished with regard to the quarrying by Don Celso Flores, and the masonry by teachers Don Mauricio Luna and Francisco Hernandez. Inside there are five frescoes executed by Pedro Ramirez representing the Incarnation, the Annunciation, The Nativity, The Presentation of Jesus in the Temple and Jesus among the Doctors.