The Santuario de Nuestra Señora del Patrocinio is situated at the foot of the Cerro de La Bufa.
In January 1548, the first chapel dedicated to the Virgin was built in gratitude of her intervention to peacefully establish a new Spanish settlement in America.
In 1656, the image of the Virgen del Patrocinio of Zacatecas was venerated by many of its faithful, but despite of these devoted ones, neglect later caused the chapel to fall into ruin, so that it was eventually necessary to erect a new shrine. The new chapel was completed in November of 1795, when the statue was put in place that is still venerated today. Since then, the sanctuary has been the recipient of constant care and various renovations.
The festival that honors this patron saint of the city is held between every September 3 to 15, when the devotees leave from the Callejon de las Campanas with fireworks and music, and dance to greet the Virgin.