La Quemada, which means ‘The Burning,’ is unique as an archaeological area of the Mesoamerican sites because of its mosaics. In 1615, Fray Juan Torquemada identified it as one of the places visited by the Aztecs in their migration to the basin of Mexico, where they left their elderly and children. In 1780, historian and religious personage Clavijero Chicomostoc, associated this place as where the Aztecs stayed for nine years during their trip to the Valley of Anahuac. This speculation led to the popular tradition that identifies "La Quemada" with the mythical place called "La Siete Cuevas.”
Research at the site revealed that it was an important part of the cultural development in Mesoamerica, whose nucleus was the city of Teotihuacan (100 to 650-700 A.D.). Archeological excavations in the area during the eighties revealed that "La Quemada" developed between 300 and 1200 A.D.
The archaeological zone is divided into three structures: The Citadel with a wall that surrounds the north area of the site that is 800 meters long, 4 meters wide, and 6 meters high; The Palace located in the central part of the hill; and the Temple located at the southern end.
Around the site, there are other structures that can be seen which are built with stone, flagstone and mud: the Hall of Columns, the game court, and the Votive Pyramid.
There is a museum located at the archaeological site, whose architectural design was conceived in a way that would integrate it into the natural landscape and environment of the archaeological zone, by the use of material that is characteristic of the buildings that are erected in the area (flagstone, stucco and flat). The museum gives an overview of the archaeological developments in the region through various pieces of information, a scale model of the site, and descriptive videos of the main prehispanic towns in Zacatecas: Loma San Gabriel, Chalchihuites and La Quemada.
Open daily from 10:00 to 5:00.