The building in which the Recinto de la Reforma is found, has had several uses. First, it formed part of the Convent of San Francisco de Asis. Later it hosted the town’s library from 1871 to 1968, the year in which it was declared the Museum of the Reform. Its rooms display statues of the most important liberal figures of the era such as Benito Juarez Garcia, Ignacio de la Llave, Miguel Lerdo de Tejada, Juan Antonio de la Fuente, Santos Degollado, Melchor Ocampo, Manuel Gutierrez Zamora, Jose Maria Mata and Guillermo Prieto, and it also houses the tombstone of Doña Angela Cortes y Arellano, great-granddaughter of Hernan Cortes.
This is the place where Benito Juarez enacted the law that nationalized church property, known as Ley Juarez on November 22, 1855.