The Santuario de Nuestra Señora de La Soledad, the declared patroness of Oaxaca since 1909, is one of the most remarkable churches due to its artistic construction, and the notable devotion that is expressed by Oaxacans, devout Mexicans, and even believers of distant countries.
This church was erected where the image of the Virgin once appeared in a box in1543. After several additions, the temple was completed in 1690 with contributions from Archdeacon Don Pedro Otalora y Carbajal. The building was elevated to the status of Basilica in 1959.
The front of the Basilica is a true work of art, for its sculptures and fine carvings. Upon entering the main door, to the right side is a small rock where the box was opened that contained the image of the Virgin.
A museum is located next to the Basilica that shows the history of the apparition and displays various liturgical objects.
The Ex-convent, which was designed by Bethlemite friar Sebastian de San Felipe, is now headquarters of the local city council of Oaxaca City.