At the beginning, the Main Building of the University housed the Conciliar Seminary. Later it became the Institute of Science and Arts of the Oaxaca in the year 1827, where Don Benito Juárez completed his studies and graduated. Destined to become home to the Universidad Autónoma by the year 1955, this building is notable for its colonial architecture. The history that is guarded within its walls is otherwise interesting. The building can be easily visited from the Macedonio Alcalá promenade.