Taxco de Alarcon, better known as Taxco, is situated at 1,752 meters above the sea level, and sits north of the state capital of Guerrero. It is considered to be the Mexican capital of silver, and its mines have existed since the colonial era.
The word Taxco comes from the Nahuatl "Tlachco" which means "Ball Game". The area was conquered by the Spanish in 1552, who exploited its mineral wealth, and it was also the birthplace of playwright Juan Ruiz de Alarcon, for whom in his honor the city took its current name.
The work of operating the mines dates back to 1800, because of which today there remains little silver to be found due to eroded mines and heavy exploitation. Taxco is a gem with a touch of magic, with its narrow cobbled streets and white houses with red tile roofs, and its historic monuments and museums that are considered national heritages.
Taxco de Alarcon is also distinguished for its silver goods, as well as the traditional dishes that are prepared with a unique ingredient, Jumil, a type of stinkbug. The town hosts different religious, cultural, and artistic festivals through out the year.
As well, it has various tourist attractions such as The Church of Santa Prisca lacated in the Plaza Borda and built in the eighteenth century, The Ex-Convento de San Bernardino of Siena, El Museo Guillermo Spratling which features prehispanic pieces and objects created by that artist, El Cristo which offers a magnificent panoramic view of the city, and el Museo de Arte Colonial which was built in the second half of the eighteenth century, and much more.
The Church of Santa Prisca and San Sebastian
With its beautiful facade made of pink stone quarry, with Baroque ornament of the era and its images in which highlight the patron saints, is considered one of the most beautiful work of the Mexican baroque art by the richness of its decoration. The construction was ordered by the wealthy Jose de la Borda and built by architects Diego Duran, Cayetano de Siguenza and Juan Caballero between 1751 and 1758 with the purpose of allowing his son, Manuel de la Borda would officiate mass. It has twelve carved wood altarpieces covered with gold leaf with beautiful pilasters of pink quarry.
The main altarpiece is dedicated to the Immaculate Conception and the patron saints of the city of Taxco: Santa Prisca and San Sebastian. It has two twin towers of Churrigueresque style and a chapel decorated with Talavera tiles, typical of the New Spain architecture . It also has paintings by Miguel Cabrera, a German organ made in 1760 and the pulpit that was built with precious woods remained intact so far.
Legend has it that in 1751 when the construction of the parish started, an afternoon in which Jose de la Borda was absent from Taxco, began a terrible storm and then some lightning flash fell on the construction scaring the workers and them, with their great fear, kneel down and started praying when suddenly from the heaven appeared Santa Prisca holding in her hands the lightning flash to avoid harming the people that were in the place, then, she was slowly disappearing. Inside the temple is a painting that has this legend.
On January 18 is celebrated the patron saint festival of San Sebastian and Santa Prisca, where there is a big fair with music and fireworks.