The Parroquia y Ex convento de San Juan Bautista was built on the remains of what existed in pre-Hispanic times as a Calmecac. Its construction was completed at the end of the 16th century. Initially the temple administration was under the charge of the Franciscans, later in the hands of the Dominicans, and finally in 1921 placed back under the Franciscans who then established the Three Provinces School. The interior of the church is decorated with paintings and altarpieces from the Baroque era, and carefully guarded in this space so full of history and artistic significance. Highlighted topics include the vision of St. Teresa, the life of the Virgin, the lives of the saints, the taking of the habit of Santa Clara, and the stigmatization of San Francisco, Santo Domingo and San Juan.