The archaeological excavations at the Templo Mayor started in February 1978 thanks to the discovery of a huge monolith carved with the image of the goddess Coyolxauhqui (Nahuatl: Coyolxauhqui; Lunar Mexica goddess).
The ruins of the Templo Mayor are the place where the great temple of the Aztecs stood, the absolute center of religious, political and economic lives of the Mexica, the capital of the ancient Tenochtitlan.
It was on a small island in the middle of Lake Texcoco that the Mexica founded the city of Tenochtitlan in 1325 AD during the period called the Late Post-classic (1200 - 1521 AD).
Templo Mayor and Sacred Precinct of Tenochtitlan Sacred Precinct: Much of its structure was destroyed by the Spanish conquest. The Metropolitan Cathedral, for example, was built with stone taken from these temples and to date is known that there are still buildings of the Empire, hidden in the base of this church and the surrounding area.
The Templo Mayor, like many buildings in the Sacred Precinct of Tenochtitlan, was added on to repeatedly. Historical sources mention that it was rebuilt at the same time that the Mexica domain increased. In addition, the city suffered from constant flooding, earthquakes and the terrain forced the Mexica to raise the level of their buildings.
Seven times the temple was covered entirely and filled with mud and stone, building up a new building of major proportions and better quality. On five occasions, only the main facade was extended.Due to this construction technique, the oldest stages were not seen by either the Spanish or by the latest generations of Mexica.
Museo del Templo Mayor: Opened on October 12, 1987, the Templo Mayor Museum houses thousands of antiquities found from 1978 to date within seven blocks from the Historic Center of Mexico City.
Cost and hours: The ticket access to the ruins of the Templo Mayor includes admission to the museum: a museum access fee is $ 51 pesos. Hours: Tuesday to Sunday from 9:00 to 5:00 hrs.