The Templo de Santo Domingo was built by the Order of the Jesuits from 1746 to 1749, and was blessed and consecrated on May 24, 1750. It was later abandoned in 1767 after the expulsion of the Jesuits, to then be occupied along with the monastery in 1785 by the Dominican Order who converted the church into the second most important of the city, after the Cathedral of Zacatecas.
Its facade, a sober baroque front, presides over the Plaza Santo Domingo located in the historical center of Zacatecas. Its rich interior contains eight altarpieces of wood gilded in gold foil, with the main one dedicated to the Virgin of Guadalupe.
In the octagonal sacristy, one can see eight paintings from the eighteenth century, works of the painter and gilder Francisco Martinez, that represent the most dramatic scenes from the Via Crucis (Stations of the Cross). It is noteworthy that the Temple of Santo Domingo is the only church in the city with these kind of colonial altarpieces.
Open daily from 7:00 to 1:00 and 5:00 to 8:30.