The Parish of the Nativity, the Church of Tepoztlan, and its former convent were built between 1555 and 1580 by villagers of the old township of Tepoztlan, led by the Dominican monks.
The Parish of the Nativity has a large courtyard in which there are four chapel posas or chapels to sit at during the Blessed Sacrament in the processions of the celebration of Corpus Christi.
They were made of stone and stood at the corners of the courtyard. Also in the courtyard there is an atrial cross whose tips are in the form of the fleur de lis, a symbol of the Order of the Dominicans.
The most important religious feast of the Church of Tepoztlan takes place on September 8, together with the celebrations of the Tepozteco Challenge.