The history of the Universidad de Guanajuato began in the 18th century, in 1732, upon the initiative of Doña Josefa Teresa Busto and Moya. They created a college in the house of Doña Josefa and the former chapel of the Otomi, where today the Patio de Estudios of the main building can be found.
In 1744, at the request of the City of Guanajuato, King Philip V issued a Royal Decree that recognized the educational efforts of the founders, and decreed that the College would be under the order of the Society of Jesus.
The expulsion of the Jesuits in the territories of New Spain in 1767, was the reason that the college remained closed for 18 years. It was later reopened as the Royal College of the Immaculate Conception, then run by Filipino priests. With the triumph of the Reformation, the College experienced significant changes.
In 1870 the college changed its name to the State University based on the decision of the then governor Florencio Antillon.
In 1945 the College name was changed again into the Universidad de Guanajuato, and became the first University Council on May 16 of that same year.
On May 31, 2007, the LX Legislature of the State Council unanimously passed the new Organic Law of the University of Guanajuato, that is currently in effect. In this way, starting in 2009, the University of Guanajuato began a new phase in its institutional history.
The University of Guanajuato offers 128 academic programs, including 10 in senior high level, 4 in the higher technical college level, 54 degrees, 18 specialties, 30 master’s degrees and 12 doctorates. It has campuses in nine cities throughout the state of Guanajuato. It is the only institution that appears on a Mexican bank note.
Its main building, with its huge staircase where you can see the entire city appears on the one thousand peso bill.