Construction of the magnificent Teatro Macedonio Alcala began in 1903, was completed in August of 1909, and was inaugurated on September 5 of that same year. The theater formerly worked under the name of the theater-casino "Luis Mier y Teran. It was later called "General Jesus y Carranza”, and around the 1930’s it was given its current name after the Oaxacan musician and composer Macedonian Alcalá, author of the waltz" God never dies. "
The property presents an outstanding Renaissance influence, particularly due to the use of stonework, as well as by its prominent and arched openings, curved and triangular pediments, Corinthian brackets, and a dome that reaches over the general height of the building.
Inside, the foyer is dominated with French character, much in the style of Louis XV, and has a white marble staircase. On the smooth ceiling, is an elegant allegory representing the Temple of Art, where the “La Fama”, and the “El Premio” are showcased.
The main hall is also done in an Imperial style. It is formed in a horseshoe shape, and is composed of six areas: the orchestra, orchestra seating, first balcony, second balcony, gallery and paradise. The main balcony, reserved for the most important guests, is part of the first balcony, and is located exactly in front of the stage.
Another interesting element is the two pairs of anthropomorphic columns that are found along the stage, that give the appearance of sustaining the high points in the building.
In the upper central parts of the stage, a bust of General Luis Mier y Teran is highlighted. From this point and continuing outward in a circular manner, are nine medallions with portraits of famous artists and writers: Victor Hugo, Calderon de la Barca, G. Verdi, Juan Ruiz de Alarcón, Shakespeare, Racine, Wagner, Beethoven and Moliere.