Located between the streets of 5 de Mayo and Tacuba, stands an old building with a facade composed of red volcanic rock and quarry. This beautiful building that houses the Nacional Monte de Piedad was founded as a charitable institution in 1775 by the Viceroy Don Pedro Romero de Terreros. Formerly, the building functioned as the houses of Axayacatl, and then as the residence of Hernan Cortes following the conquest. Over the years the house has undergone several modifications. The last remodeling was done in 1948 when a third story was added to the house. Only a few of the original details remain.