The ancient baths of Ojocaliente have been medicinal in nature since its inception. They were also known as Los Banos de Abajo, to differentiate them from the big baths of Ojocaliente where traditionally, wealthy families flocked to while the humble took advantage of the open irrigation canals. Built on May 4, 1821, it had an underground aqueduct of 1,348 meters in length, which supplied the 13 tubs, 4 outdoor baths, a vegetable garden, the set of public laundries and in the late 19th century, the pool known as La Puga. The area is comprised of buildings from different periods, among which stands out the old Hotel San Carlos, neoclassical in style, with its outdoor pools and its neo-Gothic arches. In 1989 it became the cultural place of importance for the rescue and conversation of the archaeological, historical, and artistic heritage of the country, and consequently, the architectural ensemble called The Spa of the Arquitos, which was declared a historic monument. In early 1993, with the aim of turning it into a new site focused on art that facilitated access to culture and education services to the population the work of architectural rescue and restoration of the building began and since 1994, Los Arquitos has been a cultural center, offering theater, exhibitions, a museum and library, in addition to workshops, conferences, films, art exhibitions, book presentations, and concerts among others.