The Temple of San Antonio was designed by architect Jose Refugio Reyes Rivas, self-taught artist and talented artist of several works among which are: the National Bank building in Aguascalientes Mexico (1905) and the Bank of Zacatecas (1906); Hotel Paris (1910), now the site of H. Congress of the State, the former Hotel France (1915), a girls’ school in the State of Aguascalientes (1920), now the City Museum, and the Municipal House in Calverley (1921). The construction of the Temple of San Antonio began in 1895 and the work ended on December 8, 1908. It is an amalgam of styles made with the region’s green, yellow, and pink quarry stone. On the sides of the central tower are circular turrets. A highlight of the dome is its double drum in the back of the temple. Inside, it features paintings with the themes of the Evangelists. You can admire great works with the miracles of San Antonio, by the artist Candelario Rivas. The Temple of San Antonio is a hallmark of the City of Aguascalientes. Its image appears on the back of a coin of the State, second edition "Aguascalientes" an ounce in the silver collection.