The Courthouse in the City of Toluca is a neoclassical building built on volcanic rock and quarry. It was built on the land occupied by the town hall or House of Cortez in colonial times.
Its construction dates back to 1870, when then-Governor Don Mariano Riva Palacio commissioned the work of renowned architect, Ramon Rodriguez Arenguita, who also designed the first Government House, the House of Representatives, and City Hall.
Opened on September 16, 1872 it was originally the Government House and operated until the late 1970s.
The interior features wide corridors and an equestrian statue of General Jose Maria Morelos y Pavon in the west wing.