La Merced Church was the first convent and church founded on the initiative of four Mercedarian friars from Guatemala, in 1537.
The simplicity of the architecture is due to the small influence the order had in the civil and religious life of the province. The interior of the sacristy still has the original construction of a roman arch, guarded by two lions symbolizing Spanish dominance, and decorated with floral motifs and reliefs representing the sun and moon.
This former Mercedarian convent was later the municipal jail, for which a tower was added that characterizes it now. The building now houses the Amber Museum of Chiapas.
Festival Day: September 24.