The old streets of San Pantaleon or San Juan, came to be born from one of the most important projects of Don Juan de Palafox y Mendoza in the year 1643, which were the distinguished schools that made up the Palafoxian Tridentine Seminary, whose function was to enforce the provisions emanating from the Council of Trent. This required the proper training of the priests in the seminary. The Colegio de San Pablo was part of this set. Palafox decided to found a school of infantry behind the Colegio de San Juan. Behind it were the episcopal gardens and grounds which is now occupied by art workshops from the Casa de la Cultura. This building was the residence of Puebla’s bishops from the early 17th century until the second half of the 19th century, when it was then used as the Government Palace. The Episcopal Palace or Palacio Federal of Puebla is noted for the frescoes that decorate the walls which represent European landscapes. This building now houses the local Post Office.