The Casa de la Cultura was founded by Juan de Larios, although it started as a seminary in 1596. It was originally dedicated to St. John the Baptist, but then later changed its advocation to St. John the Evangelist. In obedience to a decree by the Council of Trent, Don Juan de Palafox converted the site in 1643 to the Tridentine seminary, in addition to improving the building and integrating it with the neighboring schools. Its facade is simple, and noteworthy from the original construction is the large cube entranceway. The interior has a cloister of excellent proportions and several rooms with cross vaults. Within the building, the Palafoxiana Library also stands out, that was completed by Bishop Fabian-Fuero in the second half of the 18th century, which apart from displaying superb architecture, is home to almost forty thousand volumes of antique books. In the late 19th century, this building served as the local Government building. Today it is known as the Casa de la Cultura, or the Colegio de San Juan.