The first Government House in the City of Toluca was commissioned in 1870 by the architect Ramón Rodríguez Arenguita at the initiative of then Governor Mariano Riva Palacio.
Opened on September 16, 1872 it was destroyed in 1975 and moved to the building that now stands to the east of the Plaza Civic or Plaza de los Mártires, at 300 de la Avenida Lerdo.
For its construction they had to demolish the State Historical Archive, the Museum of the State of Mexico, the Public Library, and Pípila Alley.
It’s of neoclassical style, like other public buildings around the square. Its neoclassical façade is covered with volcanic rock and quarry. The Government House has three levels.
The third level has at its center a replica of the Bell of Dolores topped by the Coat of Arms, on the right side is the coat of arms of the state of Mexico and on the left, the name of the City of Toluca with the representation of the God Tolo.