The construction of the Cathedral of Toluca de San José began on May 12, 1867 and ended 111 years later.
Facade description: neoclassical in style, it is composed of two bodies topped by a pediment, the bottom, with eight pairs of columns. Its main body has three wooden doors in the form of an arch, the left and right side of the doors have two niches with statues of the apostles Santiago el Mayor, San Pablo, San Pedro and San Felipe.
Upper part: It has four pairs of columns framing three stained glass windows: Vitral Coros de Ángeles (work of Honorato Aguilera) and amid the stained glass of Santa Cecilia (a reproduction of John Van Eyck) and three reliefs in where San Miguel appears, the coat of arms of the first Bishop and San Rafael.
The Pediment: On top is the scene in relief of the Ascension of Christ (work of the sculptor Juan Ramirez). At the center, a rectangular wall holds a clock and over three allegorical sculptures of faith (character resting his hand on an anchor), Hope (character carrying the cross in his left hand) and Charity (character placing his right hand on the head of a child).
On each side of the clock two Doctors of the Church are characterized: San Gregorio Nacianceno, San Athanasius, San Basilio, and San John Crísostomo. At the foot of the towers we see four statues, two on each side, which are images of the Evangelists Matthew, Mark, Luke and John.
Dome: it is supported by four columns of 29 meters; its dome is crowned by an elongated lantern topped by a bronze statue by sculptor Ernesto Tamariz, representing St. Joseph with the Child Jesus.