Many years ago, Guanajuato constantly suffered from flooding in the city. It was necessary to find a solution to this problem, and one that would adapt to the surrounding terrain of the hills, mountains, valleys, and deep ravines.
Thus, construction began in 1883 of the project which would give answer to this problem: underground tunnels. The first tunnel that was completed was called "The Cuajin", which connects from the Hacienda de San Agustin to the Mercado de Embajadoras.
Later, due to the steady growth of the population and cars, it became necessary to find a solution to the traffic problem. Curiously it was these same tunnels that became the solution also to the second problem that arose.
Today, the tunnels are a unique icon that represent what Guanajuato is, a city of cobblestone alleyways and underground streets.