At the end of the 18th century, Hipolito Aguado founded a congregation and home for children here called Beaterio Santa Ana. In 1847 a church was built dedicated to Santa Ana, beautifully decorated with a smooth archway without a dome, a bell tower and altar, the Holy Family (La Sagrada Familia). The convent had a side entrance, arches, and a courtyard garden. The devout (Las beatas) lived in poverty and devoted their lives to San Miguel el Grande. The former convent became the town market until 1958, when the Public Library was founded here. The local American community sponsor the library. The former college and church were redecorated.