The Iglesia del Cerrillo (or Señor de la Transfiguración) dedicated to the Lord of Transformation, dates back from the seventeenth century.
The small plaza with its kiosk takes us back to colonial times. The simple church facade stands out amongst the surroundings of colonial houses and cobbled alleyways. In 1780 it was the parish for the neighborhoods of El Cerrillo, Barrio Mexicanos, and Cuxtitali.
Its architecture strays from the traditional model of the other churches because of the constant modifications it has undergone due to earthquakes and the passage of years.
The church has a single nave which is entered through a superimposed arch into the main chapel. The temple was repaired in 1819, 1835, 1849, and lastly in 1890, when the facade was rebuilt.
Celebration: August 6.