The Antiguo Colegio de San Pantaleon was founded in 1762 at the request of Bishop Domingo Pantaleon Alvarez de Abreu, who added it to the group of Palafoxian Colleges that belonged on the same block. Its baroque Pueblan architecture stands out, with a mezzanine, a facade with a stone wainscoting (a decorative or protective element that goes in the bottom of a wall, that can be a different material used as a coating), a brick and mortar matting, and a superb stone portal where the episcopal shields of the founder Bishop Juan de Palafox appear. Inside, the enormous cloister with arches on two levels, the grand staircase and the lecture hall are all highlights. This site worked with other clerical institutions until the Laws of the Reformation, being then placed in private hands. It was purchased by the State Judiciary in 1867 to serve as the courthouse.