Three blocks from the main square, stands the Iglesia de Santo Domingo, a sober baroque style church that was built between 1571 and 1659 under the order of the Dominicans. It was part of a larger building, the Convent of the Dominicans, whose size reached almost two blocks. By the year 1855, during the reform laws, the complex was drastically changed, as the northern part was demolished and part of their land was expropriated. It is famous for the Capilla del Rosario, that in its day was considered as the eighth wonder of the world. In this chapel we see a statue of the Virgin of the Rosary, surrounded by numerous saints, angels and martyrs. There are also exquisite works in onyx, gilt plaster work, and tiles, details that make it one of the greatest examples of Mexican baroque. It was restored recently, for which the richness of its paintings and gold leaf engravings can now be admired with more splendor.