Built in 1732, La Puerta de Tierra was the main entrance to the city, and still remains one of the symbols of the capital.
The ships of the corsairs Francis Drake, John Hawkins, Lauren Graff “Lorencillo”, Kornelius Jols “Pie de Palo”, Diego “El Mulato”, Jacobo Jackson, Henry Morgan, Bartolome “El Portugues”, Lewis Scott and Rock Brasiliano, left their names written with blood on the memories of this place. For 160 years the battles were incessant, until 1686 when the construction of the walled and fortified city of Campeche began. This construction was completed around 1704, although the attacks by raiders then had almost disappeared.
The wall that surrounded the city had a length of 2,560 meters (8,399 ft) and consisted of a irregularly shaped polygon with six fronts, four doors and eight bastions. It was also guarded by two strong forts built in the nearby hills. At present, there remains 500 meters (1,640 ft) of the wall, seven bastions, two doors and two forts.