LA SOLEDAD BASTION: It was awarded the title of Our Lady of Solitude. Its surface is 2,344 square meters (25,231 sq. ft) and consists of 3 rooms and a portal. It currently functions as the Museum of Maya Architecture (formerly the Museum of Maya Stelae).
SANTIAGO BASTION: It got its name because of the the Spanish saint of protection.
It was completed in 1704 and its fronts measured 31 meters (102 ft) and its sides nearly 15 meters (49 ft). Early in the 20th century, the Santiago Bastion was demolished and what we now know is a replica that was built in the fifties, one that is very different from the original. It is now the Xmuch Haltun Didactic Botanical Garden.
SAN JOSE BASTION: Demolished
SAN PEDRO BASTION: It was built in the late 17th century in the corner of the hexagon that formed the walled city of Campeche. In 1824, this bastion served to defend the city from the ravages of the Merida government, and in 1842, it played a crucial role when Santa Anna tried to test the strength of the fortifications.
SAN FRANCISCO BASTION: Its name celebrates the Franciscan order. It originally extended over an area of almost 1,342 sq. meters (14,445 sq. ft). In 1889, part of the bastion was ordered to be demolished, dividing it into two. Currently, part of it is occupied by the Gustavo Martinez Alomia Library.
SAN JUAN BASTION: It’s name is tied to San Juan de Dios, the founder of the Juaninos Order. This is a masterpiece of engineering, and has a surface of 764 meters (2,506 ft).
SANTA ROSA BASTION: Its name was inspired in honor of the first sanctified American: Rosa de Lima. Its surface was 1,157.45 meters (3,796 ft), and it currently houses the art gallery of Campeche which preserves paintings and other works of artists from Campeche.
SAN CARLOS BASTION: It was dedicated to Charles II who was the King at that time. Its surface is 840 meters (2,637ft) and it is now the City Museum.
SAN MIGUEL BASTION: Built in the mountains to a little over a mile from Lerma, it occupies an area of 3,858 sq. meters (41,527 sq. ft). Here, the President Santa Ana installed his headquarters when he attacked Campeche in 1842. Currently one of the features of the site is the hydraulic system.