Quicksilver Pro Surf Tournament 2011 in Zicatela, Puerto Escondido

The third edition of the Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido will be held from July 21-28, 2011 in Zicatela located southeast of the main beach in Puerto Escondido.

David Rutherford, Mark Healy, Kolohe Andino, Oscar Moncada, Clay Marzo, Gabriel Villaran, Angelo Lozano, and Adan Hernandez are among the talented national and international surfers competing in the Zicatela Pro 2011 looking to win the title in waves six to fourteen feet.

Celebrations and concerts will take place around this sporting event.
Award: $ 85,000 dollars distributed among the winners.

The Zicatela Pro 2011 is the first EcoLike event in Mexico

The EcoLike events incorporate environmental considerations in all stages of its management to minimize the negative impact on the environment and maximize the culture of caring for our natural heritage.

The organizing committee for the 2011 Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido said that it will be the first time it will launch an ambitious approach in Mexico and announced that the event will support the environment and the community of Puerto Escondido through contributions for nature conservation projects in the area, such as the maintenance of a salt water treatment plant.

Press conference of Zicatela Pro 2011

was conducted on 21 June in the Bar La Capital in Colonia Condesa involving:

Luis Skeen (President of the Mexican Federation of Surfing), Rafael Rivero (Quiksilver Surf Manager), Arturo Perez Gavilan (CEO Quiksilver Mexico), Gabriel Neuman (Director General Bi2green).

As professional surfers: Angelo Lozano, Oscar Moncada and Adan Hernandez.

Quiksilver Pro Winners Puerto Escondido, previous editions:

2009: Clay Marzo (EU)
2010: David Rutherford (MX).

Links of interest:

Quiksilver Pro News

Promotional video of the Quiksilver Pro 2011

Hotels in Puerto Escondido

In the event that you cannot attend this competition, you will be able to see the surf tournament via streaming on this page.